Why the single visa?
Who is eligible?
How to Apply:


Dependents: All persons must apply in their own right. Travel document: Any genuine acceptable travel document valid not less than 6 months. Visa Fees: 100 USD

Previously, the tourist visa fees for the different countries were as follows:

  • Kenya:  – Visa Fee – $35.00 (Multiple Entry) equivalent is $50
  • Rwanda:
    • Visa Fee – $35.00 (Multiple Entry) equivalent is $50
    • Visa Fee – $20.00 (Single Entry)
    • Visa Fee – $40.00 (Multiple Entry -V-1(m)/Transit visa)
    • Visa Fee – $65.00 (Group Tourism, 6 to10 people traveling together that intend to enter and exit on same date)
  • Uganda:
    • Correct visa fee ($35 for single entry visa & $80 for six-month multiple entry visa)
    • Validity of Visa: 90 days
    • Single or Multiple Entry: Multiple entry

The holder of the East Africa Tourist Visa shall enter from the country that issued the visa and move within the two other countries without applying for another visa or paying for another visa fee.

The holder shall also be allowed to move out of the Republic of Kenya, Republic of Rwanda and Republic of Uganda; and return without having to pay for another visa. This will only be applicable in the period of 90 days.

Visas issued for specific countries can only be used for that particular country

Work or No Work: Work is not permitted

Visa Extension: An East Africa Tourist Visa shall not be extended.

Typical Requirements:

  1. One clear colored passport size photo with white background recently taken without glasses, caps and scurf; (the photo should be attached to the application form by use of glue stick. Stapling and clipping the photo to the application form is not advisable).
  2. A complete filled application form
  3. Visa application letter addressed to the issuing authority of the concerned country


The countries will be able to market themselves as a single tourist destination Partner states will use same logo at joint stands in international travel trade fairs e.g. ITB

A shared web portal will be able to give info on all countries.


A special consideration has been given to expatriates residing in Kenya, Rwanda and Uganda. They can obtain the East Africa Tourist Visa at $100 and it’s valid for 6 months.


In addition to the requirements listed above for the East Africa Tourist Visa, the expatriates will require a valid residents/ work permit.